Blue Mountains Botanic Garden: Weaving fun and colour into art

Weaving fun and colour into art

Weaving fun and colour into art

By Blue Mountains Botanic Garden, Mount Tomah

Fibre artist and weaver Lanny Mackenzie will exhibit her vibrant woven sculptures at Blue Mountains Botanic Garden, Mount Tomah, from Sunday, December 8, to Friday, January 31.

Fresh from her UK exhibition, Lanny will showcase her skills as a weaver with hand-woven baskets and sculptured pieces.

Based in Orange, she uses a combination of natural materials, garden cuttings, found objects and shopping bags, with a “recycle, reduce and re-use’’ philosophy.

“I was first introduced to simple basket weavings by Bev Coe, an experienced Aboriginal artist in Condobolin, central NSW, in 2002,’’ she said.

“I found it very interesting; being able to create individual pieces based on my mood with the materials and time I had available.

“From these simple weavings, I’ve experimented with natural grasses, vines and other plants. By using both commercially available and natural dyes, I have been able to create some really amazing colours to incorporate into my works.

“With my Indonesian, Balinese and Chinese background I have incorporated personal motifs and colours into my work. Growing up in east and central Java, with a strong batik influence in everyday life, has inspired the way I choose to use strong bold colours as well as more muted tones, depending on the project at hand.’’

Lanny weaves fun and colourful creations producing useful objects and beautiful one-off pieces. Her work will be on sale at the Garden Shop. Lanny will also run a workshop on January 31.

The exhibition will be held at Blue Mountains Botanic Garden Visitor Centre, Bells Line of Rd, Mount Tomah. Entry: free. Details: (02) 4567 3000.

Leave a comment